I started reading ‘Atonement’ by Ian McEwan a while ago but picked it up again on my recent holiday and restarted it. I was hoping to finish the novel on holiday but I ran out of time due to revising and relaxing! 

I have really enjoyed reading the novel and I am currently half way through part two. On my first reading of the opening chapters I was confused by the story line. However on my second reading it became clearer and I was gripped by the mystery of the twin’s disappearance and the plot twist about Robbie. I was instantly drawn to the child narration of Briony Tallis and her characters naive perception of the ‘crime’ committed. I also liked the character of Cecilia who I feel many people my age could relate to. From what I have read so far I think the time jump in part two lacks the suspense and mystery of part one; but I still find it an interesting story line and am intrigued about how the novel will end.

I chose to read this book as the theme of childhood is what I am looking to write about in my course work. I am enjoying the novel so far and am looking forward to finding out the fate of Briony, Robbie and Cecilia. I will write an update soon on my opinions of part three and the book as a whole as I am planning to finish it over the next few days.

(This was meant to be published on 05/07/16 however it deleted an I had to retype it)